Saturday, 5 March 2016

Explain the types of Zones in DNS.

Or, What is difference between Forward Lookup Zone and Reverse Lookup Zone?
Or, Explain DNS Zones and Sub-Zones.
Or, What is Primary Zone, Secondary Zone and Stub Zone in DNS?

There are two types of zones in DNS, Forward Lookup Zone and Reverse Lookup Zone and these are used for host name to IP and IP to Host name resolution respectively.

Forward Lookup Zone: Resolves Host Name to IP Address
Reverse Lookup Zone:   Resolves IP Address to Host Name

There are three sub zones in DNS, Primary Zone, Secondary Zone and Stub Zone which are explained below:

Primary Zone: This zone is copy of the zone that can be updated directly on the DNS Server. It resides on primary DNS Server by-default.

Secondary Zone: This is read only copy of the primary zone which also provides fault tolerance and loan balancing of primary zone.

Stub Zone:  This Zone is designed for handling queries of few specific DNS records which are A Record, SOA Record and NS Record.

This zone is also a read only type zone which contains only three records as stated above, administrators cant add/modify any DNS records entries in this DNS zone.

No comments:

Post a comment